Perspective

 

Do you every worry about sending your children or grandchildren off to school? I do. I grieve over what will happen to their wonderful imaginations? Slowly, in the name of society, in the name of practicality, we will begin to stamp out the glorious child of God we so cherish.

 

I remember watching the development of my youngest son Take’s artwork. As a child, he used to draw these marvelous pictures of people and creatures and houses and buildings. There wasn’t a whole lot of realism to these pictures. He hadn’t been pressured into using perspective yet. But they were marvelous, intricate pictures in which what was important to this child loomed forward and captivated my heart. I learned from these pictures what I had forgotten in growing up

 

As Take grew older, he learned to use perspective in his drawings. He got so good at it that he was asked to do the designs for the major sections of the grade school yearbook. Of course, I lavished praise on him, for his imaginative grasp of the realism of the world, but I also grieved for what was now missing from his drawings.

 

No more flying worms in his drawings. After all, everybody knew that worms don’t fly. Bees and butterflies fly. Birds fly. Even airplanes fly, but worms crawl. Everybody knew that.

 

Nobody laughed at his drawings anymore, saying “That’s not real.” The houses in the distance are smaller than the ones up close…no more buildings that bloomed like flower. No longer would other children and even most adults say, “He broke the rules. Rules are rules. Nail him. Nail him.”

